entering the universe

Since ancient times, human beings have been interested in what surrounds them, right? And the greatest thing capable of surrounding us as a species is the universe, that great space and time that encompasses everything that has existed, exists and will exist, from the largest stars or black holes, to the smallest particle of some element.

The origin of the Universe

The origin of the universe dates back to thirteen thousand seven hundred million years ago, when the Big Bang occurred, a theory proposed by George Lemaitre that suggests that there was an immense explosion that contained all the energy of the universe, expanding at a great speed from the size of a seed to having an astronomical range, giving way to what it is today. A curious fact about this is that it is believed that the universe is still expanding, and that when it reaches its limit it will shrink again, reaching its initial size.

Milky Way

Now, the galaxy where we live, the Milky Way, has a much shorter lifespan, approximately four billion years to be exact. It is part of a group of more than 54 galaxies (including the Andromeda galaxy and the Triangulum Galaxy) which in turn is included in the Virgo super cluster and the Laniakea super cluster. It has the typical spiral figure with a bar-shaped center, where stars are located. It is divided into three parts: Halo, disk and bulb.

First of all, the halo is a sphere-shaped structure that surrounds the galaxy with a low concentration of stars and gas clouds but with a large amount of dark matter.

Secondly, the disk is the part that contains the most gas and is composed mainly of young stars, in charge of their formation process.

Thirdly and lastly, there is the bulge, which is the nucleus that is in the entire center, it is the area with the most stellar volume that rotates like a rigid solid object.

The solar system

Within the majesty of this galaxy, we find our precious solar system, which contains the planets:

  • mercury
  • Venus
  • Earth
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • Neptune

They all orbit the sun, which is the only central star capable of emitting its own light. But not only does it contain these planets, there are also dwarf planets like Pluto, Ceres, Haumea, Makemake and Eris. These planets are characterized by not having cleaned the neighborhood of their orbit.

On the other hand, the solar system also has an asteroid belt, trans-Neptunian objects, a Kuiper belt and an Oort cloud. It also has a wide variety of satellites, celestial bodies that orbit around the planets such as:

  • Moon
  • Io
  • Europe
  • Ganymides
  • Calisto
  • Titan
  • Thetis
  • Dione
  • Rhea
  • Iapetus
  • Pampers
  • Enceladus
  • Miranda
  • Ariel
  • Umbriel
  • Titania
  • Oberon
  • Newt
  • Charon

The solar system is also made up of Asteroids, which are rocky celestial bodies much smaller than a planet that usually orbit between Mars and Jupiter in the region known as the asteroid belt.On the other hand, there are the meteoroids, small fragments of comets and asteroids that can be from satellites and planets. And finally, the comets, characterized by their composition of ice, dust and rocks that orbit around the sun under different trajectories.


Leave a comment

Please note that comments must be approved before being published.